The Virgin Islands of the United States are a group of islands in the Caribbean that are an insular area of the United States. The islands are geographically part of the Virgin Islands archipelago and are located in the Leeward Islands of the Lesser Antilles. The U.S. Virgin Islands are an organized, unincorporated United States territory. Tourism is the primary economic activity. The islands normally host 2 million visitors a year, many of whom visit on cruise ships.

The U.S. Virgin Islands consists of a group of Caribbean Islands that are part of the United States of America's insular islands. They're located east of Puerto Rico and just west of the British Virgin Islands. The Virgin Islands is located in a tropical area and is famous for its white, sandy beaches, turquoise waters and resorts. The daytime temperatures are almost always in the 90s, with evening temperatures rarely dipping below 60. The area experiences rainy seasons, with cyclones and hurricanes likely during the summer and fall. Earthquakes are also possible; the earthquake that struck Haiti in 2010 is a sober reminder that the Caribbean, while peaceful and beautiful, is also prone to the vicissitudes of nature.

The area was under Danish control until 1917 when the United States purchased the islands from Denmark to use as a strategic base against possible submarine warfare during World War I. Since then, the island has remained peaceful and under American control.

English is the language spoken in both the educational system and in business, and the U.S. dollar is the currency used throughout the islands. The main islands consist of St. Croix, St. John, St. Thomas and Water Island, along with some smaller islands. The capital, Charlotte Amalie, is also home to the University of the Virgin Islands. A second campus which is also part of the university system is located on the island of St. Croix.