Keystone logo
North China Electric Power University (NCEPU)

North China Electric Power University (NCEPU)

North China Electric Power University (NCEPU)


North China Electric Power University (NCEPU) is a national key university of “Project 211” and “Project 985”, directly under the leadership of the Ministry of Education. Its headquarters locates in Beijing with a campus in Baoding. The two campuses carry out integrated management. NCEPU now has about 3,000 faculty members and over 20,000 full-time undergraduate students and near 10,000 post-graduate students. It covers an area of over 1,600 acres with a floorage of over 1 million square meters.

NCEPU was founded in 1958 in Beijing, formerly known as Beijing Electric Power College, and was affiliated with the national power department. In 2003, it was transferred to the Ministry of Education for management and was jointly administrated by the Ministry of Education and the University Council. The Council was founded by State Grid Corporation of China and other six national key power companies. Now its members have grown to nine including the China Electricity Council.

NCEPU has 11 schools, including the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, School of Energy Power and Mechanical Engineering, School of Control and Computer Engineering, School of Economics and Management, School of Environmental Science and Engineering, School of Renewable Energy, School of Nuclear Science and Engineering, School of Mathematics and Physics, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, School of Foreign Languages, and School of Marxism, totally 59 undergraduate majors. The university has one key discipline of the national “Double World-classes” construction (Energy and Power Science and Engineering), two national key disciplines (Power System and Automation, and Thermal Power Engineering), 25 provincial key disciplines; in the fourth round of discipline assessment, Electrical Engineering and Power Engineering and Engineering Thermophysics were ranked in A and A- files respectively; two disciplines Engineering and Environment/Ecology entered the top 1% of the ESI around the world. The university has five centers for post-doctoral studies, 7 first-level disciplines authorized to offer Ph.D. Degree, and 23 first-level disciplines authorized to offer Master Degree. Besides, the university has nine Master Degree Authorization Categories including Master of Engineering, Master of Business Administration, Master of Public Administration. All of these formed a complete system to train undergraduates, masters, and doctors.


  • Changping District

    Changping District, China