Keystone logo
San Juan Bautista School Of Medicine

San Juan Bautista School Of Medicine

San Juan Bautista School Of Medicine


The San Juan Bautista School of Medicine (SJBSM) is a private, non-profit institution, incorporated as such with the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. A Board of Trustees governs the SJBSM and ensures that the institution fully complies with its mission and vision. The board is comprised of six elected members, who delegate to the President/Dean all actions pertaining to the appointment of deans, faculty, and administrative personnel.

It was founded in 1978 with the mission to advance the health of the community by focusing on community medicine and the need for having more physicians serving vulnerable and medically underserved populations. The School was first located in San Juan, the capital of Puerto Rico, which was originally named San Juan Bautista by the Spaniards. In 1998, it moved its facilities to the city of Caguas, one of the most important urban centers in Puerto Rico, with a population of 150,000. Caguas is in the East-Central region of the island, 18 miles south of San Juan, the capital of Puerto Rico. Due to its privileged location, the city is easily accessible through ports and airport facilities, thus permitting fast and convenient transport. This location facilitates commercial, individual, and tourist expansion activities.


  • Caguas

    Expreso Luis A. Ferré, 00727, Caguas