Keystone logo
University Of Crete

University Of Crete

University Of Crete


Established in 1973, the University of Crete is a young public educational institution committed to excellence in research and teaching. The seat of the University is the Gallos Campus in Rethymnon, where the Schools of Philosophy, Education, Social, Economic & Political Sciences are located. The Voutes Campus in Heraklion is home to the School of Sciences & Technology and the School of Medicine, as well as a number of affiliated research-oriented infrastructures and facilities, including the University General Hospital.

The mission of the University of Crete is to generate and transmit scientific knowledge, to prepare new scientists and scholars for its application, and to contribute to the advancement of human culture. These goals are achieved by pursuing close links between research and education, by encouraging scientific dialogue and by utilizing the capabilities and talents of staff and students.

The University of Crete seeks to make education and research an attractive and stimulating experience for its students and researchers by continuously striving to be on the cutting edge of contemporary developments. The University aspires to play a leading role in demonstrating the potential of Greek public universities to participate as equals in international academic life of the 21st century, by adopting international best practices, by outward-looking modes of operation, and by encouraging excellence and innovation.


  • Heraklion

    Heraklion, Greece